Home > Conversations with God, CWG, life, Religion, spirituality > Ask God … but for that which is!

Ask God … but for that which is!

“If, then, revelation is requested, it cannot be had, for the act of asking is a statement that it is not there; that nothing of God is now being revealed. Such a statement produces the experience. For your thought about something is creative, and your word is productive, and your thought and your word together are magnificently effective in giving birth to your reality. Therefore shall you experience that God is not now revealed, for if God were, you would not ask God to be.” (CWG, Book 1, p18)

Only a few pages into CWG Book 1, this concept is first introduced. It is a very difficult and non-intuitive idea at first sight, and smells of the familar circular reasoning so popular with those defending the authority of the bible (“the bible is true because the bible says it is true”).

This idea suggests that the act of asking for something creates the reality that we do not have what we are asking for! The combination of our thoughts and words produces our reality. Or to turn it around the other way, if we already knew we had something, we would not ask for it (duh).

This is a hard concept to grab hold of and I am struggling here! However, it comes up over and over again throughout the CWG trilogy and is a foundational idea to the whole CWG model.

“You will not have that for which you ask, nor can you have anything you want. This is because your very request is a statement of lack, and your saying you want a thing only works to produce that precise experience – wanting – in your reality.” (CWG, Book 1, p19)

I say to God “I want to be happy”, and that’s exactly what I get – the feeling of “wanting to be happy.” Man … I really need to go away and think about this!

This idea has very wide implications later on in the CWG model in terms of what it means for us to made in the image of God – that we have the power to create. These ideas are inter-related. He seems to be saying that rather than ask for that which you do not have, create it!

  1. Sue Ann Edwards
    August 26, 2007 at 6:02 am

    Hi Jon!

    Just found your blog. Thank you for pointing the way for me!

    There is an illusion which is tripping you up. The illusion you call ‘circular reasoning’. It is an illusion. For there is NO reasoning going on, circular or otherwise.

    Maybe it would be easier to understand if I said that if we Desire to create an experience on the ‘outside’, then we have to have it on the ‘inside’ first.

    Happy attracts happy.

    Sad attracts sad.

    Much illumination can be gleaned by asking ourselves what consitututes ‘happy’ anyway. For most of us, ‘happy’ is when we’re not in pain and everything is going our way. Defined as such, then our experiences of ‘happy’ are going to be limited. Mirroring us, who are also limited, since we chose to place the limits and conditions on our lives.

    It would also help if we understood that ‘having’ is a different experience then ‘getting’. What ever we ‘got’, can also be ‘taken’. So relating any personal experiences of self worth, self esteem or security of these things that can be got, is what creates our personal experiences of feeling ‘insecure’.

    And the results of these feelings of ‘insecure’ is to turn us into control freaks, who attempt to completely dominate and control the realities of others, because of emotional dependencies attached to them.

    Our President is a PERFECT example of this sort of insecure behaviour.

    Many of us have clamped on to the idea of ‘creating our own reality’ out of a desire to CONTROL our future. And this road is a big harhar. What will happen, what we will attract, are all the expereinces in Life we don’t know how to cope with, all the ones we have qualified as ‘negative’…

    just so we won’t be so limited.

    Limited in our Understanding.

    Limited in our Tolerance.

    Limited in our Acceptance.

    Limited in our Compassion.

    In our Understanding of Life. In our Tolerance towards Life. In our Acceptance of Life. In our Compassion for Life.

    We’re ‘retarded’. Emotionally ‘retarded’. When it comes to our Love for Life. We can ONLY Love the ‘positive’.

    We’re AFRAID of ‘negative’, because we don’t know how to cope with it.

    I insist. Every moment in life and of life is a Present. A Gift. Whether ‘happy’ or ‘miserable’. And very few of us are appreciative of our Presents.

  2. August 26, 2007 at 10:24 am

    Hmm. Have you noticed an uncanny resemblance between Sue Ann and the God of the CWG books? What could that mean, I wonder? :-)

    I’ve just found your blog thro’ Sue Ann’s site and am greatly enjoying it. As to this post: as I understand it, an effective prayer is a prayer of thanks, not of asking. Give thanks for what you have, and if there is something else you would like to bring into your life, give thanks for that too *as though you already have it*. And as you say the prayer, *believe* that you already have it. This is the way to create your own reality.

    The trouble is that as long as you think there are things that you need, as long as you are *attached* to having them, then truly believing that you already have them isn’t easy to do. Part of you tends to think “What if it doesn’t work?” and that uncertainty pushes them away. This the Catch 22 of the law of attraction!

    So this is where what Sue says comes in. You have to come to understand that your happiness doesn’t depend on what you have or don’t have. Then, when you have dropped your attachment to having what you think you want, the negative “What if it doesn’t work?” thoughts disappear and you can have it!

    But how do you get from here to there? How do you lose those attachments? I think the CWG books are wonderful, but if I have a criticism of them, it’s that they don’t provide an awful lot of guidance on this. For that, I recommend the book that sits alongside CWG Book 1 as the most important book in my life: Practising The Power Of Now by Eckhart Tolle (Or, if you want more explanation, the longer The Power Of Now.) You might also be interested to read the works of Ron Roth, an ex-Catholic priest who writes about this sort of thing from the point of view of someone who is coming from Christianity.

    I hope this makes sense! I shall visit again. I’ve put a link to your blog on my sidebar. Please take a look at it and see if you’d like to give me a link back. I blog about this sort of stuff: CWG, Eckhart Tolle etc. You may be particularly interested in my post How To Have It All which deals with the subject we’ve been discussing here. http://secretoflife.typepad.com/the_secret_of_life/2006/10/those_of_you_wh.html

  3. August 26, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    Hi Sue Ann and Simon,
    Whew! A lot of new thoughts and thinking here for me to digest. Thanks for taking the time to call by – It is clear that it will be a while before I really get a grasp of this idea and the whole “law of attraction”. It is something more than just wishful thinking, postive thinking, or plain denial of reality. But what? Hard to put into words. Simon – thanks for the reference to the Tolle book – sounds like that is the best “next step” after CWG.
    Peace,
    Jon

  4. Wendy
    August 26, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    Hi John,
    yes, I struggle with this one too. The thing is, my experience tells me (and we know now that that’s valid) that there have been many times over the last fifteen years that I have asked God for something and he’s given it to me. These are things I had no way of getting for myself. So I was a bit taken aback when I read this. But later on, maybe in book three, God addresses this seeming contradiction and says sometimes he does give what people pray for, if they have faith.
    So for now I’m just going to carry on the way I’ve always done, – praying for things rather than trying to do mental gymnastics and try to convince myself I’ve already got something when I know I haven’t. It’s worked for me on all the reaaly big things. When a publisher finally fronts up with a contract for my book I’ll know it’s still working.
    ( Note that I very cleverly didn’t mention that it hasn’t happened yet, just in case the universe is listening.)

  5. August 27, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    Wendy,
    From other background reading I have been doing on the net, it turns out this whole concept is called “the law of attraction”, and forms the backbone of this whole type of teaching. I have noticed over the years that sometimes (quite often actually!) rather amazing co-incidences would occur which I could never really explain. I am now of the opinion that this was “the law of attraction” at work. I say this because some of those “co-incidences” could have been easily attributed to God, but the trouble was that I would have just as many that were in effect an invitation into “sin”. This left me quite puzzled as to where Gog fitted into all this. Maybe it was all just the law of attraction doing its thing!
    It turns out there have been whole books written about this and that CWG mentions this, but does not develop it very far.
    Jon

  6. Cassie
    August 31, 2007 at 5:49 am

    To me, the law of attraction is just something else that makes me feel confused and guilty because I feel lack, and by feeling lack, I create lack. But, I don’t think that’s true. By feeling lack I appear to create lack, that is the truth. I think it is there, so now I see it. If I didn’t think there was lack, I wouldn’t see it. It is only our perception which is affected. The reality remains the same. The reality is whatever is. Lack or non-lack are judgments and don’t exist. I really don’t want to blame myself for not having what I want because I want it. Doesn’t that sound like an awful trick the universe is playing on us? :) “Look, here’s something nice…but, you can’t have it until you stop wanting it! Haha!” But, but, when I don’t want it anymore, I won’t want it! What will be the point in having it? The Buddha said that desire was the cause of all suffering. Maybe that’s what the universe is saying. “Wanting is causing the illusion of lack, which causes suffering.”

  7. August 31, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    Cassie,
    “Look, here’s something nice…but, you can’t have it until you stop wanting it! Haha!” But, but, when I don’t want it anymore, I won’t want it! What will be the point in having it?”
    LOL. As someone who is ne wto this whole teaching, I can only say that you make a very good point indeed! My understanding from CWG is that if you want something, thats what you get – the feeling of wanting something. I don’t think the answer is to stop wanting, but to act as if it already is so. I have been experimenting a bit with this over the past weeks with feelings. Instead of saying “I want to be happy” I have been saying “I am happy” Fatc is, it has been working incredibly well! At work, I have been saying (to myself) “I am a great programmer” (currently writing some software) and I have really noticed a change in my performance. There you have it.
    Jon

  8. Cassie
    September 1, 2007 at 4:17 am

    It is true that when you want something you will get the feeling of wanting it-because the thought of lack creates the appearance of lack! But, it cannot be true that this is the universe’s answer to your prayers. That happens to be the natural consequence of wanting. (Wanting means you perceive lack.)
    I just haven’t been able to put that into practice. The truth is, I’m not happy. I don’t want to lie to myself, which is what I consider telling myself I’m happy when I’m not. But, if it works for you, I am glad. It is always good to be confident in yourself!

  9. September 1, 2007 at 11:08 am

    Cassie,
    You say “I’m not happy”. Is it not more accurate to say that there are some aspects of your life you are happy about, others not happy, and a lot in between thats neither. I think it is (at this stage) unrealistic to think that we could be always happy about everything – if that were the case, we would be a master! The fact is you are happy about some things, and unhappy about others. This is at it should be. Now out of the unhappiness, choose to express a grander version of Who You Really Are.
    I have to say that at this stage I have limited this whole “you create your own reality” idea to a cut-down version of “you create your own emotional reality.” (You have to start somewhere). Yes, I can choose how I react, I can choose my emotional responses to any situation. I should also point out there is a question of scale here too. You say “if it works for you – good”. Well, my “experiments have been on a rather modest scale so far. I have not overnight transformed into a permanently happy guy. My experiments have been more along the lines of “I’m late for work, just missed a green light – I am happy” or “I have to walk down this corridor – I am happy”. :-)

  10. Cassie
    September 3, 2007 at 9:54 am

    Well, actually, I meant when the truth is that I’m not happy, it would be hard for me to say to myself that I am because it would seem like a lie. I do have depression, but you are right, there are times when I am happy. Perhaps that would be one thing to do when I’m not happy is to think about what I am happy about.
    That’s funny, that’s the same version I have limited it to! :) I do believe I create my own emotional reality.
    That made me laugh. :) I have tried something recently to change my state of mind. I am usually really worried when I am running late-but I realized that this thought of “running late” makes me run late! So, I say “No, I’m not ‘running’ late…I’m walking.” And I feel much better. The hurry in my mind eases.

  11. September 3, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    Cassie,
    LOL. We converge at last! Maybe one day several lives from now we will be blogging away together about how now we can cahnge any part of our reality, and look on at amazement at these “lower” creatures who can only manage to change their emotional realities. :-)
    Jon

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

