Home > Conversations with God, CWG, life, Religion, spirituality > The really really big picture of life the universe and everything

The really really big picture of life the universe and everything

Why was the universe created? Why were we created? What is the nature of God? What is the nature of man? What is the relationship between man and God?

It would be hard to get questions much bigger than this!

In the beginning, All There Is was All There Is. Now All There Is knew Itself/Himself/Herself conceptually, but desired to know Itself/Himself/Herself  experientially. If All There Is is complete and without need, then although All There is knows conceptually that It is generous (for instance), how can the act of generosity be experienced if there is nothing that has need of being shown generosity? So All There Is created something other than Itself – All That Is Not, and in doing so created an otherness by which All That Is could experience the full magnificence of Itself. Creating All That Is Not created relativity – up and down, here and there, hot and cold, love and fear. Yet, and this is the Divine Dichotomy, since All That Is is All That Is, that includes All That Not Is! All That Is divided Itself into an infinite number of smaller parts, all seperate and yet still a part of All That Is.

“My divine purpose in dividing Me was to create sufficient parts of Me that I could know Myself experientially. There is only one way for the Creator to know Itself experientially as Creator, and that is to create. And so I gave to each of the countless parts of Me the same power to create which I have as a whole. … My purpose in creating you, My spiritual offspring, was for Me to know Myself as God. I have no way to do that save through you. Thus it can be said that My purpose for you is that you should know yourself as Me.” (CWG, Book 1, p31)

Awesome!

  1. lonewlf387
    September 1, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    This reminds me of the idea of Oneness in Buddhism. In Buddhism they believe that we are all “one” that through enlightenment you learn to see and understand that everyone is connected that you and everyone are not separate. Although if my understanding is correct in Buddhist thought the universal mind isn’t actually one person. There isnt actually a creator in their view. Just thought I would share the similarities. I find ideas like this very interesting.

    Adam

  2. September 1, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Hi Adam,
    Thanks. I don’t know anything at all about Buddism so I can’t comment, however if CWG expresses a universal truth then it would not surprise me at all to find elements of these truths in all religions (they can’t all be all wrong!). CWG goes on later to emphasise that, following on from the above understanding, that we are all one.

  3. Mike
    September 1, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    You’ve hit the nail on the head, man. I have done extensive research regarding Buddhism, enlightenment, “Oneness,” and the like, and Adam makes some insightful connections.

    “My purpose for you is that you should know yourself as Me.”

    Perfect. I hope that my blog can provide you with further insight and clarity. I was planning on making a post very similar to this one in the near future, in fact. :)

    http://mikeelias.wordpress.com

    Keep up the good work, buddy. ;)
    –Mike

  4. Farthel
    September 2, 2007 at 7:48 am

    Well, the ultimate answer about life, the universe, and everything is 42.

  5. Sue Ann Edwards
    September 2, 2007 at 8:31 am

    The Buddhists throughout the world are now looking for ‘Maetraya'(sp?) Christ Buddha.

    And the number 5 is married to the shape tetrahedron.

    Smiling.

    Sue Ann

  6. Sue Ann Edwards
    September 2, 2007 at 8:32 am

    The key to the outside lies inside.
    The secret it unlocks is
    There is no outside.

    The Will of Creation
    is to express the inside
    Out.

  7. Mike
    September 4, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    Ahh, Jon, I just encountered a very similar theory about the “meaning of life” and all that in a book by Ken Wilber. I was just about to start writing a post like this one, that gives it all away, but you beat me to the punch! You’re the man. I’ve read a few other posts of yours and can say with fair certainty that you’ve got it down. You’re well awake and this is going to be one exciting-ass lifetime as you realize experientially what you’ve realized intellectually. Stay awesome. :)

    –Mike

    http://mikeelias.wordpress.com

    P.S. I’ll be linking to your blog once I get around to posting my own version of the “big picture of the universe and everything” ;)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

