Home > christian, Conversations with God, life, New Age, Religion > The Sharemarket and Religion

The Sharemarket and Religion

Listening to the radio in the car this morning, I was struck by the similarities between the sharemarket and religion.

Both are governed by the fundamental human emotions of fear and greed.

If we think the stock will rise, greed kicks in and we rush to buy. When the prophets (analysts) predict impending doom, we sell in fear (and sometimes panic).

Religion appeals to our greed in promising eternal life to those who believe and act (and donate) as desired, and also to our fear should we not toe the party line, with threats of eternal damnation in a very unpleasant place (how’s that for the ultimate scare tactic!).

I must say that I’m so very very glad to be rid of the yoke of organised religion from my thinking, and am so very very glad  to have the simple freedom to decide Who I Really Am for no other reason than because That is Who I Wish To Be, and not because I am greedy for some prize or fearful of some punishment.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment